Cinema of Commoning 2
Symposium, Screenings, Talks
Attend Cinema of Commoning 2

Accreditations are now on sale for the Cinema of Commoning Symposium, which will take place 5 – 7 July (Opening 4 July) at SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA in Berlin. We would love to see you there!

At the Cinema of Commoning Symposium, cinemas from around the world will gather in Berlin for a thought provoking range of discussions and keynotes, alongside film screenings, communal meals and parties.

The event offers an unusual opportunity to share ideas, build friendships and connect with like-minded alternative cinema spaces from around the world, to learn from each other and to build new networks. Panels are still being finalized but will include focuses on cinema as a social space, international funding, censorship and politics, archival practice and film education.

Each day will focus on a different theme, offering a rich and thought-provoking experience:

Day One / Cinema Perspectives: Alternative Networks and Sustainability

Day Two / Cinema in Action: Physical Spaces, Communities and Solidarity

Day Three / Cinema Pasts and Futures: Film Archives and Education as Zones of (Un-)Learning

We are excited to feature keynote speakers Stavros Stavrides, Sinthujan Varatharajah and Madhusree Dutta.The Symposium will also include a conversation with Bonaventure Ndikung as part of our Opening Event, discussions on cinema and censorship, and sessions on building alternative cinema networks and rethinking film education.

The Symposium will take place at SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA in Berlin Wedding. Accreditations are now on sale here. Passes cost €10 / €7 concession per day, with each pass giving access to a full day of talks, screenings and gatherings. Follow us on Instagram for all the latest updates!

Opening: 4 July 2024

Symposium: 5 – 7 July 2024

Contributors to the Symposium include: Alejandro Bachmann, Nada Bakr, Malika Chaghal, Abiba Coulibaly, Ibou Coulibaly Diop, DJ BLACK, Madhusree Dutta, Rabih El-Khoury, Pascale Fakhry, Eirini Fountedaki, Sara Gadiaga, Leyli Gafarova, Amaal Meftouh Ezzeyany, Jesse Gerard Mpango, Djamila Grandits, Ilkin Huseynov, Alain Kassanda, Nino Klingler, Malve Lippmann, Mosa Mpetha, Hania Mroué, Bengi Muzbeg, Ibee Ndaw, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Chima Okerenkwo, Dina Pokrajac, Rachel Pronger, Lisabona Rahman, Katia Rossini, Agnès Salson, Farahnaz Sharifi, Ares Shporta, Marc Siegel, Dalia Soliman, Stavros Stavrides, Can Sungu, Xuedan (Echo) Tang, Deniz Tortum, Margarita Tsomou, Sarnt Utamachote, Sinthujan Varatharajah, Christo Wallers, Florian Weghorn and others.